More- As A Man Thinks

“As A Man Thinks” (continued #3)

by Ran Butler Stovall

The Bible has somewhat to say about “living by faith,” and “walking by faith.”

I think about it. I think, “Am I doing this–or these?”

And I think, what does “thinking” have to do with “living.” Or with “walking?”

I also think, what does “faith” have to do with “living” or “walking?”

Well, I’m sure that– I’m not sure!

But it seems to me that sometimes I think “faith” thoughts, and sometimes I don’t.  It also seems to me that a “faith” thought is thinking that is in agreement with God’s thoughts.  Perhaps this “faith thinking” is the secret to the “living” and “walking.”

“Hey, God. I deserve a vacation,”  is not,  a faith-thought.  (I might need a vacation, but I’m sure that  God knows that I don’t deserve one.)

“Dear God, I’m so irritable these last few days. Perhaps I need a vacation. You are the Provider of all my needs. Show me Your will, I pray.”

That sounds more like the mind of Christ.

In Proverbs 23:7 (NASB) I read a little something about myself: —for as Ran thinks within himself, so he is (some slight paraphrasing included).

I need to be more careful about what I think.

Leave a comment